Unity Health Care
We Treat You Well

Mission and Leadership

Our Mission.

Promoting healthier communities through compassion and comprehensive health and human services, regardless of ability to pay.



From the start, Unity Health Care has been committed to serving the health needs of our communities. Originally founded in 1985 as Health Care for the Homeless Project (HCHP), HCHP provided primary health care services to homeless individuals and families that resided in local emergency shelters or on the streets of the District of Columbia. In 1997, HCHP officially changed its name to Unity Health Care as care expanded from serving people experiencing homelessness to providing primary and specialty care to District residents. Over the past three decades we have grown into a network of over 20 traditional and non-traditional health centers and a medical outreach mobile unit.

As reflected in our history, Unity is more committed than ever to further unify services in convenient and accessible health centers to make our families and communities healthier.




Executive leadership

Vincent A. Keane, President & CEO
Janelle Goetcheus, MD, Chief Medical Officer and Executive VP for Medical Affairs
Ardell Butler, Executive VP for Operations and Finance
Michael R. Crawford, Chief of Staff
Aaronissa Alleyne, VP for Human Resources
Tracy Harrison, VP for Clinical Administration
Karin Werner, VP for Strategic Development
Dianne Pledgie, Interim Director of Compliance
Diana Lapp, MD, Deputy Chief Medical Officer and VP for Medical Administration
Aysha Corbett, MD, Deputy Chief Medical Officer and VP for Quality Improvement, Provider Recruitment/Education
Oluwatoyin (Toyin) Abayomi, Deputy CFO and VP for Finance
Angela Diop, ND, VP for Information Systems
Angelica Journagin, VP of Planning and External Affairs
Sara Koslosky, Director of Nursing
Molly Evans, Outside Legal Counsel


Board of Directors

Jo Ann Smoak Mahone, Chairperson
Frederick Cooke, Esq., Vice Chair
Charles Barber, Esq., Treasurer
Rev. Dr. Edwin Jones, Sr., Secretary
Meagan Untalan Barkett
Tommie Barnes
Raymond Bush
Earlene Butler
Gina Cross
Heather Foster

Terry Goodman
Elizabeth Green, MD
Rhonda Hamilton

Alexandra Harris
Paul Kealey
William Lawson
Dianna Ledbetter
Leslie McIntire
Silvia Murillo
Arleth Padilla
Sharona Bean Robinson